Belmont Stakes results: American Pharoah wins

American Pharoah led all the way to win the Belmont Stakes by 5½ lengths Saturday, becoming the first horse in 37 years to sweep the Kentucky Derby, Preakness and Belmont Stakes — one of the sporting world’s rarest feats.

The Belmont Stakes offers the opportunity for race lovers to watch history in the making as American Pharoah will be aiming for the horse racings glory, Triple Crown. The Belmont Stakes will take place on Saturday at 6:50 PM ET, which is the post time at Belmont Park in Elmont, New York.

The most difficult for a horse to do is to win the Triple Crown (Kentucky Derby, Preakness and Belmont). Since 1978 when Affirmed won the Triple Crown, there’s no Triple Crown winner. But Pharaoah has a chance to win the Triple Crown after pulling off victories in the Kentucky Derby and the Preakness. There were 14 other horses that came near, only to lose in the Belmont.

Eight horses are vying for this year’s Belmont, a small field that would provide American Pharoah the lift by breaking from the fifth spot. This year’s Belmont Stakes odds favor American Pharoah, who is a heavy favorite with 2-3 odds. Frosted has a 6-1 odds for the Belmont Stakes behind American Pharoah.

Will this be the year for millions of viewers to see history takes place? Will American Pharoah eventually capture the Triple Crown?

Here are the 11 previous Triple Crown winners:

1919: Sir Barton

1930: Gallant Fox

1935: Omaha

1937: War Admiral

1941: Whirlaway

1943: Count Fleet

1946: Assault

1948: Citation

1973: Secretariat

1977: Seattle Slew

1978: Affirmed

2015 Belmont Stakes Post time: 6:50 p.m. ET, TV time and network: 4:30 p.m. ET (NBC). Belmont Stakes Live Streaming Online is on NBC Live Extra and Mobile: NBC Live Extra app. Who will win this year’s Belmont Stakes?

Garry loves writing, editing and ranking keywords in the search engines. His passion for basketball, football, baseball and other sports has led him to write. He has been writing and promoting his blogs in the past seven years.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *